Swing Seat Testimonials

Some kind words you might find of interest:

After a long search for a garden swing, we eventually found Sitting Spiritually - and what a find they turned out to be!   Martin and Siobhan were most helpful, courteous and customer minded in all respects.   Time was carefully taken to plan and consider our needs, even to the extent that a 'portrait' of our three springer spaniels was incorporated into the fantail back of the swing.   Absolutely stunning!

 The swing seat has yet to be 'broken in' fully due to the weather, but, even on a chilly day, wrapped up warm with a nice hot drink, swinging gently away - is an absolute joy.  

 If you are looking for that something special for your garden, you need look no further than Sitting Spiritually.

 With kind regards

Mike and Jane in North Warwickshire.

Good morning Martin

 We assembled our swing seat on Friday and are thrilled with it.  The quality of the finish and the craftsmanship are outstanding and it is Sooooo comfortable to sit on.

 Friends were here at the weekend and everyone thought it was wonderful. 

 It has been a pleasure to deal with all at Sitting Spiritually and thank you for making the shipping to Guernsey so easy as well.

 Kind regards 


Lorna 

"The whole experience around the commission with Sitting Spiritually was excellent. From the initial discussions on the stand at Chelsea, through the exploration of feasibility for our quite specific space, the approach was friendly, practical, helpful and knowledgeable. Hugely impressive that the fit was perfect, the swing seat is lovely and a real pleasure dealing with you".

"Very satisfied St Albans customer":

I LOVE my new swing seats…   they are beautifully made… v happy with them, sitting in the sun like something out of the deep south of the USA sipping mint juleps

Best Wishes Polly

(Polly Devlin, OBE)

 

Dear Martin 

A perfect place to sit and admire the rest of the garden with a glass of wine .

Many thanks for your wonderful attention to detail and excellent customer service. The swing is the first port of call for my 2 year old granddaughter when she arrives here .I have positioned the swing in a slightly shady spot in the garden  and as it arrived in late Autumn I was concerned that the position was wrong .Infact , it has been quite perfect this summer - a refuge from the heat of the day.

With many thanks,

Eithne

Thank you so much for our beautiful swing seat. It is stunning - even my teenage son, who might not be expected to be enthusiastic about such things, admired it!

Now all we need is the weather - although we enjoyed sitting in it  last night even in the dampness!

Hilary

PS We love the table too...

Dear Martin,

I am sorry I missed your call, I have intended to ring you back for days, but life has been rather hectic.

The Pergola and Swing Seat all went together very well with no problems thank you and we absolutely adore the new addition to our garden.

It is so very comfortable and very relaxing and therapeutic to sit and swing and enjoy the views, you do feel you are 'Sitting Spiritually!!' 

So a Big thank you it was certainly worth waiting for and will look even better when we have done the planting around it and the remaining garden which is due to be done on the 16th May all being well, I will then send you a photo.

Many thanks once again for an excellent quality and beautifully designed pergola and swing seat.

Best Wishes

Meryl

Dear Martin & Siobhan  

My eagerly awaited swing seat was delivered last Friday and I would like to make the following comments.

The entire experience from my original telephone conversation with Martin, to the final installation has been a wonderful experience of how purchasing anything should be.

From my initial conversation, when I requested dimensional changes to the swing, were carried out exactly as asked for and the upholstery options were explained perfectly.

The delivery arrived exactly when stated and it was assembled by the two guys from Crewkerne Carriers who were very quick and tidy.

The main thing, however is the swing seat itself, which is so beautiful and well-made that it will take pride of place in my garden for many years to come.

Thank you to everybody at Sitting Spiritually.

Many many thanks

Roger White

Garden swing seat testimonials - Grandad and Grandaughter

Hello Martin,

We get a great deal of pleasure from our Sitting Spiritually seat down by the river - so too, do the grand kids. The chocolate and ice cream clean off just fine..."

- Paul

Hi Martin and Siobhan,

We're back from New Wine now and what a delight it was to go into the garden to see our wonderful swingseat waiting for us!

It's so beautiful and sooo worth my many a year wait to get the right one!

I've already had friends round for tea and cake, and a swing! Their teenage son would like one!

Thank you so very much. I'm absolutely delighted with it!

God Bless,

Shuna

Hi Martin

Thanks so much for your call yesterday which I missed. I was meaning to get in touch to say how delighted I am with my beautiful bench. The photos didn't do it justice - it is a real work of sculpture for the garden and I love it. I have already had the opportunity to sit on it and I love the way that the wave arms " embrace" you. And the ammonites are a lovely touch. Crewkerne carriers were very efficient and helpful in giving me a precise time they would deliver and then in positioning the bench in the garden. So thank you to you and Siobhan for all your help with the ordering process and for the wonderful craftsmanship. I will certainly continue to sing your praises to friends and family !

Best wishes, Christina

Just a note to say that I love my new purchase. I saw it on the internet and really liked it. Then I saw a similar one at Wisley and tried it out and thought it was great. So I returned with my husband and we tried it out together and I returned with my friend and we sat "researching" for a long time. Finally I ordered one. I just wish I had done it sooner. For anyone thinking of getting one I would say, as someone who doesn't rush into things, just do it, they are absolute joy bringers.

A big thank you to all involved, from craftsmen to lovely delivery men and yourselves,

Paula

Hi Martin

Delighted with the lovely swing seat. It's already impossible to imagine life without it. Thank you for making the whole transaction so easy.

Kind regards Helen.

Dear Martin,

I hope you had a safe and speedy journey home from Winterslow yesterday

This is just a little note to say how much we have appreciated, right from the start of our contact with you, your friendly, efficient, excellent and personal service. It was very good for us yesterday to have you in person delivering and installing our lovely garden seat

Our 12 year old grandson came to see it last night, tested its swing, and pronounced it ‘cool’! He also wishes they could have one. Praise and success indeed!I know we will enjoy many happy hours in the future, ‘sitting spiritually’, on the luscious cushions, in your beautifully crafted and designed swing seat.

We will look forward to seeing your work at Chelsea next year and in all the RHS gardens we might visit.

With very best wishes,

Evelyn and David Houghton

"The Sitting Spiritually swing seats in the RHS Gardens Rosemoor and Wisley are a constant source of enjoyment for our visitors.  With the swings’ enduring popularity, fine construction and appealing design, the RHS is very pleased to be working with Sitting Spiritually to create a dedicated RHS range in renewable chestnut.”

Grant Tripp, Licensing Manager, RHS Enterprises

“There is nothing quite like swinging gently in a seat. It reminds me of the happiest days of my childhood at my grand-mother’s house where thin white sandwiches with thick raspberry jam were tea time treats and swinging on my flying sofa, dreaming to the soundtrack of the low murmur of bees - the perfect accompaniment. This seat makes me happy – is there anything better one can say?”

Sir Tim Smit, Eden Project

Dear Martin and Siobhan

Just to say all the arrangements worked perfectly today and the swing seat was safely delivered by 0830. We are thrilled with the seat and the carving is wonderful –we made the right choice and thanks so much for your help in pushing us (gently!) to a decision on what we wanted! The swing seat already looks at home and I’m sure it will take pride of place in the garden for many years to come. Thank you so much for producing such perfect garden furniture...we will look after it and hope to send you a photo of it in situ under the willow tree idc (when the sun finally comes out!)

Regards,

Patricia and Roddy

Dear Martin and Siobhan,

I wanted to write and thank you for all your help and advice in ordering a Rockabye for my disabled son's 21st Birthday.

Daniel has profound learning disabilities with autism. He has sensory integration difficulties which means swinging is very calming for him. He wouldn't be able to get on and off a normal swing so having a bench to sit back and relax in will be of great benefit to him throughout his life.

I decided to go for oak so it will last him his lifetime. Your advice, Martin, on shape really helped as we decided the Tranquillity Slat-Back would suit him best. The shape would encourage him to sit back and at the same time the head and lumbar area would be supported. I am thrilled with the shape and the carving of DANIEL 21YRS 15/02/2012 made it extra special. Especially as you were able to deliver it that day - his birthday.

We are in the process of landscaping his garden and will forward you a picture when we have placed it in it's final spot.

Thanks once again, Joanne King

Dear Martin and Celia,

My beautiful rock-a-bye has just arrived and even though it is only 1 degree c have been sitting out on it in my garden. What a pleasure this commission has been. From the start Martin was so easy to talk to and took me through the whole process, informing me all the way at different stages of its' birth.

The craftmanship is wonderful and you can feel the warmth love and spirit that has gone into my chair.

Please thank everyone involved in the process, including the two great delivery guys.

All the Best

Ann Russell, Rugby

Dear Martin,

Just to say we are simply delighted with our beautiful swing seat which is all we hoped for. The cushions are fantastic and so comfortable.

Many Many thanks

Julia Bowley Enfield

We took delivery of our seat yesterday. Brilliiant! We managed to relax on it for a good hour before the rain set in, even then we didn't want to leave it! Thank you so much...its a dream come true. We look forward to many happy hours upon our seat.

Take care

Dave and Barb Nicholas

Just a note to say we have received our beautiful swing seat and it's sitting in the corner of our garden as I type. We all sat on the seat together at the same time and thought about our beautiful little girl. The sun was setting and the sky was pink, Evie would approve of that !!!
Thankyou for helping my little dream come true and enabling us to have something so lovely as a focal point for our Evie garden.

Kindest Regards, Karen,Ray and Joe Hart.

Martin,

I’m finally getting around to dropping you a note to say how delighted we are with the swing seat you built for my wife. Assembly was just as straight forward as you said it would be and the surprise element was achieved completely... she awoke on her birthday morning to see the finished product sitting in the garden. Great!

So thank you for achieving the tight deadline and being so helpful throughout the process. As people take note of our beautiful new addition to the garden, you may well have further repeat business from TN12 !

Kind regards to you and your team,

Mike

“We have for some time been looking for an adult swing to add to Jo’s childhood home which we have kept and renovated. Jo grew up with a swing in the garden and wanted to restore that memory to the property. We saw the swing at the Chelsea Flower Show and ordered it with “Back to my Childhood” carved on the seat. It had to be delivered when we were not there and we described the exact location to Crewkerne Carriers in an email. We are overjoyed with the product. It is beautifully made and is exactly what we wanted. Thank you.

Jo & Ken.

Hi Martin & Celia,

Thank you for delivering our swing seat on 17th May (our 25th wedding anniversary) After you left we just could not resist the temptation to go back up into the field armed with blankets and a glass of wine, although there was a fine drizzle in the air. We set the swing seat into gentle motion and stayed there enjoying the perfect peace until it was quite dark. The seat is everything we hoped it would be. Thank you both.

We hope Chelsea was successful for you ( we were thrilled to see your seats on the BBC2 programme)

With kind thoughts,

Alan & Trudi Howell, June 2011

The swing seat is truly beautiful, - a real feature in the garden, and with the wonderful weather we have had over the last few days, I have enjoyed sitting in it with my cushions and books, feeling very much rocked by the rhythms of nature around me..... What better therapy could there be! Thank you again, - we are delighted with it and in the meantime, my friends are all going to be introduced to the joys of a swing seat too!!!

Sally Grundy, Hunsdon Mill House, April 2011

Crewkerne Carriers delivered and set up the swing seat this morning and I came back from work to sort out the position and test the height for them. They were brilliant and and the seat looks beautiful (the sun shone on it especially I think). We can't wait for the weather to improve a bit so that we can just sit out and enjoy it, which I have to admit, I don't do enough because I keep seeing something else that needs attention. I think I could be persuaded now though.

Many thanks for your skill and hard work.

Janet & Vivien Slater, February 2010

HI Martin! Well here it is in situ. Peter and I just love it. The seat will be surrounded by meadow mix next summer - Today is 16th November 2010 on a fabulous frosty, sunny morning in East Yorkshire.I would like to thank you very much for your friendly, efficient service and for getting the seat to us on the delivery date!If ever you venture this far up North you are welcome to call in.

Kind regards.Irene Bradbury November 2010

Martin made me a fabulous garden swing as a gift for my husband in 2007. It is well used, comfy and looks better as it gets older - a bit like me ! - except the swing has a welsh dragon on it's back. Saving up for a swing for our grandchildren. Thank you Martin"

Ann Grey October 2010

The swing seat is absolutely beautiful. In fact when the delivery chaps had been and gone, I sat there at 9 o'clock at night, there was a very dark sky and lots of stars, I sat there with a glass of wine and thought how wonderful it is. It is just brilliant, thank you so much.


21st September 2010  Moira Lupton, North Yorkshire

Dear Martin,

Suzie is thrilled with her swing and thank you both for making our anniversary,

Kind regards,

Graham Bond 24th August 2010

Martin , can't tell you how pleased I am with my beautiful seat its perfect thank you! The two very helpful men put it all together and it is really going to add so much to my enjoyment of the garden. I am looking at it now while typing this and smiling . The cushions look gorgeous and I intend to spend a great deal of time relaxing reading,watching the wildlife and thinking very happy thoughts!
Charlotte Muse August 2010

Hi Martin, just a quick e-mail to say how much I am enjoying my Kyokusen swing seat! It fits perfectly into the garden and looks like it has always been there. You can see both the quality and artistry in its design and craftsmanship and it is a real pleasure to sit in and while away the time with a good book or cold drink.

Kind regards, Susan Wallcraft August 2010

Dear Martin
The swing seat was safely delivered and erected by 2 nice young men from Crewkerne Carriers.  They arrived at 11am just as we got back from swimming.  Luckily it was dry at the time but we are now having a hail storm so it is getting a good soaking! I am delighted with my seat.  It looks great, and even the cushions are fab.  I can't wait to use it; however, that may be a while as the 5 day forecast is not great! I know we will enjoy our swing seat this summer and I hope for many years to come. Roger enjoys photography so when the weather is better I'll get him to take a couple of pictures of it  and send them to you. Thank you so much; it has been a pleasure dealing with you. With best wishes
Caroline and Roger Shier March 2010

Sitting on my new seat - looking at the stars and drinking my Bailey,s on crushed ice was a wonderful end to a beautiful birthday!
The seat was a fantastic surprise- its lovely, thank you for all the hard work and dedication you put in to make a lovely work of art that will be something to pass on to the next generation!
June Eaton March 2010

Hello Martin,
"Happy New Year! Just to let you know that the swing seat you made for me for my husbands Christmas present is perfect! As you can imagine, we haven't had much opportunity to use it yet and at the moment, it still has the last remaining lumps of snow melting from it...but can't wait for a day to be out there and using it.
My husband is delighted with it and it fits very well into the space I imagined it would go which is under a magnolia tree. I will send you a picture later in the year when the tree is in flower. In the meantime, thank you so much for the excellent service I received from you, everything from the attention to detail on the swing to the delivery people who were very helpful and nice, was perfect."
Thanks again,
Julia Forrest January 2010

From the moment you delivered it on Friday I haven't stopped smiling and we are so delighted with it. We have really admired the care and craftmanship that has gone into making our seat and the cushions are the extra special finishing touch. We are so pleased we decided to invest in such a special feature for our garden and your personal interest in making sure that we chose just the right thing was very much appreciated.
Carol Moore Hampshire November 2009

"Dear Martin, Thanks for the amazing swing. It is such a joy to see things of quality in this age of shoddy. Keep up the good work."
- Tom Hodgkinson, Author of The Idle Parent

rope-swing-idle-parent.jpg

Dear Martin and Celia
‘I had been looking for quite a long time for the right swing seat but my search most certainly ended and we have been ‘sitting spiritually’ on your swing ever since.  Now our swing is totally part of the family, I sit and drink my first cup of coffee before anyone else is up.  I sit with friends and chat, we all sit together with the children as a family and my husband and I ‘chill out’ at the end of the day on the swing with a glass of wine – it has even been a pirate ship with crocodiles swimming around on the grass underneath it!! 
The swing even gave me a good reason for a breath of fresh air on cold and frosty mornings through the winter.  The wood really does look beautiful now and I have given it a good scrub as instructed!  Our swing is now a total treasure and we think that you are very clever’
Susie Mehta Leamington Spa

Dear Martin and Celia,
We have it and its great . Our eagerly awaited serenity swing seat arrived just on time as promised. It was a race as to who would sit on it first. Our 6 year old beat both of us!
You have been a delight to deal with and we look forward to many years of enjoyment from our swing seat.
All the Best
Declan

Can't tell you how pleased I am with my lovely oak swing - it's so beautifully made and looks great in the garden.  Felix (my 3  year old grandson)  and I fit on the wide seat very comfortably and I know its going to be much loved for many years. 
The carriers were very friendly and set the swing up very quickly without any fuss and the whole thing has worked out just perfectly.
Kind regards.
Gerry Newton

Congratulations on the article and on the Chelsea show - a marvelous event. We are still enjoying our daughter's beautiful swing ...all guests- children and adults enjoy the experience of swinging peacefully in our garden, and we have spent many happy hours on our oak swing.
The Dearie Family

Dear Martin
"First of all thank you more than I can say for our wonderful garden swing seat. It already looks as if it has been there forever, even without any grass, clematis or proper willow fence! It really is a dream come true for me, and the whole family are absolutely delighted (as you probably gathered!) – I know we will have many many happy and contended hours swinging there over the next few months and years."
Penny Biggs, Totnes Devon

Dear Martin
"Many thanks for your prompt attention to our order, it arrived in good time for our birthdays which are in the same week.
It was very easy to erect, and I liked the simple turnbuckle arrangement to change the attitude. As a glider pilot, I very much enjoyed our first flight in it; being comfortably seated moving above the ground without power assistance is 'spiritually' satisfying."
Kind regards
Peter & Ruth Berridge

Dear Martin and Celia
"The rope swing arrived this morning and we are delighted. Beautifully made and easy to assemble it was as we'd hoped. Can't wait for the grandchildren to come and try it but in themeantime we are having a great time. Thank you."
Terry Stanford & Penny Watson-Farrar, Blakeney, North Norfolk

"Each swing seat is hand-crafted so buyers can be assured of a completely unique product. The seats are designed to be left outside all year round and require no treatment." Saturday February 23, 2008 The Guardian

"My swing seat has arrived. I love it. It has exceeded all my expectations. It is so comfy and so elegant’ Many thanks for your courteous and professional service"
Jane, Brighton

We unwind in East Devon at Bramble Hayes garden at Uplyme near Axminster, devoted to the needs of insects and birds and garden swing seats … contemplation.

Devon Life Magazine

I love the two seater Oak "Fan Back" swing seat delivered here in Halifax earlier this week I have just walked the dog (who features in a wonderful carving centre back on the seat) and flopped onto the seat to relax for a minute. I felt wonderful but he (Billy the Labrador) looked rather askance at me - it must have been the smug smile of contentment on my face. Roll on spring 2008! Thank you Martin and Celia so much
Judith Bousfield, Halifax

Swing seat
What better way to view your garden from a swing seat? Made from oak and western red cedar, they can be hung in their own frame or from arbours, pergolas, porches, gazebos or even the bough of your favourite tree. Acrylic cushions will ensure your comfort.
Daily Telegraph Saturday 5th September 2007

"We were very impressed with the care and attention to detail and the feeling that the seat was being created for the maker. This was a real treat to ourselves and she is now positioned for all to sit on and view in extreme comfort with a sense of true English quality. Thankyou to MARTIN and the team."
Kind Regards,
Benedict Hall

"If only I had room in my urban patch for a sustainably-sourced wooden garden swing, I’d be poring over the designs of the Dorset garden swing company Sitting Spiritually. Its three-seat Serenity model and frame costs £1099 "( sittingspiritually. co.uk).
The Times 26th May 2007

"It is a peaceful place to sit and think and looks great under the big oak in our garden. We are really delighted with it."
Best wishes,
John Grenville & Sally Akers Oxfordshire

Dear Martin
"I'm really sorry to have delayed so long in sending you a word of thanks for our lovely swing-seat. Still no pictures, I'm afraid - its all to do with a rose Arbour yet to be covered by new roses and a particularly disobliging cat who despite our best efforts still refuses to pose beside her carving: but we'll get her or else...... Meanwhile. We want to tell you what real pleasure our swing seat gives us; how kindly and efficiently you detitle with us even at long distance here in France: how smoothly the delivery went; believe me, not all carriers in the south of France are anything like as helpful as yours; and finally how smooth and easy it was for two of us to put the seat together, It is so beautifully machined - really putting it together was like playing with Lego. The seat excites many admiring la-las from our French friends. As soon as we have a photo which we think stands a chance of outshining any you already have on your website we'll send it, I promise. Meanwhile we'd be happy to testify to anyone who'd like to hear from us."
With every good wish for Christmas and the New Year,
Sue and Angus and Quissac, the cat

We saw the image of your beautiful swing seat on your web site and decided to invest. When it arrived we were delighted with the quality. What the image cannot convey is the wonderful relaxing feeling the swing seat gives. Both sitting or lying down its bliss - Thank you Martin you are a true craftsman"

D&B, Hertford

"Our new addition has made a truly positive impact in the garden. It is all the more exciting because what started as a gem of an idea is now reality. Our "Parky Swirl Bench" Working with you and Lucy was an absolute joy and we are truly thrilled with the result. Huge thanks for creating a very special piece for us."
Kind regards,
June and Trevor Parkinson

"My most favourite times are in the quiet of the early morning, a little before 6am, with bird song, a cup of tea. It's the most perfect way to start the day. Thanks for all your help and making my swing seat of choice."
Janet

"We and our twin grandchildren have really enjoyed gently swinging under the shade of our apple tree, and we are so glad we took the plunge and invested in an excellent piece of genuine British craftsmanship. We are sure it will give us many years of pleasure."
Regards, Ian

Dear Martin
"Just a short note to say thank you for producing such a wonderful seat. My wife was delighted with it. There is no doubt that the Pimms tastes better when sipped gently swinging on a beautiful oak seat. We were really impressed with the way you made the seat in such a way that the balance is absolutely perfect, a gentle push and the seat continues to swing for several minutes. Family and friends have all been very impressed with the seat and we look forward to enjoying many hours "Sitting Spiritually" over the coming years. Thank you for making the perfect seat."
Yours sincerely,
Robert Speedy

'Martin was very easy and efficient to work with. The finished swing seat looked absolutely fabulous, and was all the more special for incorporating my father's beloved hare. He could not have been more thrilled.'
Anabel Knight

'We have had lots of enjoyment out of the seat this summer and will continue to do so I’m sure. The seat has had many admirers, a few of whom have taken your details. I hope you are keeping busy. Regards,"
Dr Simon Peacock, Leeds

“Martin makes exceptionally fine swing seats and is a delightful person to do business with. If you want a piece of outdoor furniture that will bring you happiness and contentment for years, look no further”
Nick Shannon, Leatherhead

Dear Martin,
"We are thoroughly delighted with our swing seat, and it has been admired by all who have seen (and sat on) it. I would, however, also like to order a seat cushion for it now, I think in the green tweed. I look forward to hearing from you as to when this might be possible".
Kind regards, Tessa

“We have only had the seat a day but already it has been a source of great pleasure. On three separate occasions, I found myself chatting on the seat with friends who had dropped in to visit and were happy to stay, swinging as we talked, even as it grew dark. One has already asked for your details so that she can buy one for her new house. And my eleven year old son made himself comfortable with some cushions and actually enjoyed learning his French vocabulary while swinging! Many thanks again - my friend remarked "you were right to buy it" and I couldn’t agree more!.
Best wishes, Sara

"Martin, thank-you. We are so pleased with our Tranquillity seat. It provides the perfect accompaniment to a large gin and tonic at the end of a busy day."
Best regards,
Tim & Valerie Rose

"This is just a note to say that we are delighted with the seat which will ultimately be adorned with yellow roses on the pergola. Owing to excellent project management your seat arrived last Thursday which coincided with the day on which the pergola was completed! "
With many thanks and best wishes,
Mark

"The swing seat really is wonderful. It receives complements by the wheelbarrow load and you may very well be hearing from friends who also want one. The three seater was right for us, as was the decision to add the suspension springs and the fossils. An excellent product, and your after sales service was wonderful."
John and Cynthia, Chichester

"My first experience of Martins swinging seats was at Hilliers Arboretum in Hampshire. I am now delighted that I have my very own - it's wonderful. Thank you Martin for your craftsmanship, hospitality and all round excellent service."

Wendy, Southampton

Hi Martin

"Just to let you know my seat has arrived. It was really just to say how delighted I am with my seat, it is lovely and I hope to enjoy many hours sitting on it during our more pleasant weather . Having Will's named carved into the wood has personalised it and made the whole thing more special to me. It was a delight dealing with yourself "

Joan, Glasgow

Hi Siobhan

 Thanks for the email. We are so delighted with the swing seat. The children, my wife and I have used it literally every day since it was delivered!

My favourite time is first thing in the morning when everything is still and quiet, with a cup of tea. 

 You may be able to guess, but we all love it. 

Thanks. 

Rod

Loading... Updating page...